Public Figures Condemn Coup In Paraguay

Full Statement and Signatories

We the undersigned join the governments of Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Venezuela, Ecuador, the Dominican Republic & others in condemning the removal of the elected President Lugo in Paraguay, in a process that has been described widely as a “political coup.”

President Lugo has labelled his removal as a blow against Paraguay’s democracy & although accepting he is currently now out of office has termed it an “express coup d’etat.”

President Lugo was given just 24 hours to prepare a defence against an impeachment instituted by a temporary right-wing majority in parliament, using procedures the Lugo government has previously declared illegal & unconstitutional.

There have also been reports of human rights abuses from the new regime. For example, activists in the CUT-A (Paraguayan union federation) are reporting that the military have fired live rounds at unarmed protesters & campesino leaders have reported activists killed. Currently tens of thousands of Paraguayans are protesting outside the Parliament for the return of Lugo. They have established a Front for the Defence of Democracy.

The progressive wave of recent years in Latin America has many powerful enemies, both from former ruling elites internally & right-wing forces internationally. International support is vital so that democratic & social advances continue.


Eric Hobsbawm, Historian

Richard Gott

Hugh O’Shaughnessy, author: The Priest of Paraguay

Peter Lambert, Senior Lecturer in Spanish & Latin American Studies, University of Bath

Robin Blackburn

Ernesto Laclau

Dr Francisco Dominguez, Centre for Brazilian & Latin American Studies, Middlesex University

Doreen Massey, Professor of Geography

Ken Livingstone

Colin Burgon, Venezuela Solidarity Campaign & Labour Friends of Venezuela

Grahame Morris MP

Valerie Vaz MP

Nic Dakin MP

Jeremy Corbyn MP

John McDonnell MP

Mike Wood MP

Linda Riordan MP

Mark Lazarowicz MP

Baroness Anne Gibson, All Party Parliamentary Group on Latin America

Neil Findlay MSP

Frances O’Grady, TUC Deputy General Secretary

Tony Burke, Assistant General Secretary, Unite the Union

The GMB / Bert Schouwenburg, GMB International Officer

Billy Hayes, CWU General Secretary

Christine Blower, NUT General Secretary

Matt Wrack, FBU General Secretary

Manuel Cortes, TSSA General Secretary

Steve Murphy, UCATT General Secretary

Gerry Morrissey, BECTU General Secretary

Jonathan Ledger, NAPO General Secretary

Doug Nicholls, General Federation of Trade Unions General Secretary

Terry Hoad, Immediate Past President, University & College Union

Jody McIntyre, journalist

Kanje Sesay, National Union of Students Black Students’ Officer

Aaron Kiely, National Union of Students NEC & Black Students’ Officer (elect)

Lindsey German, Stop the War Coalition Convenor

Maggie Bowden, General Secretary, Liberation

Peter Hallward, Professor of Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University

Dr Steve Ludlam, University of Sheffield

Professor Mike Cole, Director of the Centre for Education for Social Justice at Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln

Marcos Costa Lima, Profº. of the Political Science Department of UFPE

Jenny Pearce, University of Bradford

Dr Michael Derham, Northumbria University

Dr Lee Salter, University of the West of England

Dr Diana Raby, Senior Fellow, Latin American Studies, University of Liverpool & Professor Emeritus, History, University of Toronto

Jonathan Rosenhead, London School of Economics

Matthew Brown, Director of the Centre for the Study of Colonial and Postcolonial Societies, University of Bristol

Iain Bruce, journalist

Grace Livingstone, Author, America’s Backyard

Mike Gatehouse

Rod Stoneman, Executive Producer, The Revolution will Not Be Televised

Pablo Navarrete, journalist & documentary filmmaker

Cat Smith, Chair, Next Generation Labour (pc)

Lucy Anderson, Labour Party National Policy Forum

Cllr. Samuel Tarry, Barking & Dagenham Council Chief Whip

Steve Hart, Unite the Union Political Director

Cllr Vince Maple, Leader Labour Group of Medway Council

John Haylett, Morning Star Political Editor

Jim Kennedy, Labour Party NEC (pc)

Max Watson, UNISON NEC

Denise Christie, FBU Women’s Committee

Ruby Cox, Chair of the Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign & as Chair of Unison’s Greater London Region International Committee

Jackson Cullinane, Political Officer, Unite Scotland

David Winters, Croydon NUT & VSC TU delegation to Venezuelan 2012 member

Paul Foley, Head of Health, UNISON North West (pc)

Richard Ascough

Carl Maden, CWU NEC

Cllr Tom Beattie, Unite the Union

Kevin Flack, Chair, Sevenoaks Constituency Labour Party

Phil McGarry, Scottish VSC & RMT Scotland.

Matt Willgress, VSC Co-ordinator

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s